Sarah Nazza Knit Final Collection LCF

Style: Sarah Mazza LCF BA Collection

Sarah Mazza’s Quest to Individuality was inspired by traditional women’s tattoos from the Philippines and explores the relationship between modern society and its subcultures. It is Mazza’s major project from her BA in Fashion Design Technology: Surface Textile, Knitwear at the London College of Fashion and represents the culmination of three years experimenting with technique, texture and colour.

Sarah Mazza BA Knit LCF

“From a young age I always wanted to do something creative,” explains Mazza. Having studied Textiles at A-Level, her passion for the fashion industry and knitwear in particular was born. Noticing a talent in her, her tutor taught her to knit outside of class and from then on she was hooked, taking every possible chance to practice and improve in her spare time. After gaining a place on the prestigious course at LCF, where she explored mutliple textile techniques including embroidery and print, she decided to focus purely on her first passion.

“I always knew I was going to end up knitting. I love the way in which we can create our own fabric, shape and make it as individual as we want,” she says. “I always liked using unusual materials and prefer to challenge myself by staying away from conventional wool.”

She’s graduating at the perfect time, as innovation in technology means designers are able to experiment in ways that have never been seen before. Mazza has already taken the opportunity to intern with some of London’s coolest trend-setters in knit, including Craig Lawrence, and the future looks bright for this young designer.

“If I said I already planned my life for the next couple of years, it would be a lie,” Mazza laughs. “I plan to take life as it comes. If a good opportunity should arise I would not be scared to take it.But for now I am just focusing on designing to build on my portfolio.”

We can’t wait to see what’s next!

Sarah Mazza-1

Image Credits:

Cover Image: Sarah Mazza
Photographer: Josh chow
Hair and Makeup: Naoko Mabuchi
Model : Ayesha Tan-Jones

Post Images:
Photographer, James Rees
Creative Direction, Rob Phillips
Beauty, Pace Chen, Melissa Wong
Nail Art, Lauren Michelle Pires
Model, Sarah Dick at Models 1

